NaNoWriMo 2012

Ok, November 1.  A day I’ve been excitedly dreading all year.  My first time participating in NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month.  Yeah!  I woke up early in anticipation of writing (or from a bad dream-the jury’s still out) And 45 minutes in and I have yet to write.  I have checked email, Facebook, read about NaNoWriMo, added the word-count widget, changed my theme and completely stalled.  Fun times!  I even know what novel I want to write but fear reared its ugly head and now I’m finding it hard to start.  Fear.  Scared.  Really cute to have these feelings the day AFTER Halloween.  That’s me though.

So, now I have to start work.  An hour wasted procrastinating.  Well, let me tell you, this is why I signed up for the NaNoWriMo.  I needed to hold myself accountable (and publicly have others do the same) so that I would do it.  Some of these book ideas I have  had for years.  The one that I’ll be writing this month I’ve been mulling around for 2 years at least.  I can’t sit back and wait for life to happen to me anymore.  I have big dream about getting a book deal, getting one the NY Times best-selling list, making movies, etc.  Nice dreams but where is the book?

NO more excuses! I’m good at excuses, explanations, stall tactics and the like.  NO MORE, I say.  Here I go…Moving Forward.  By the end of November, my goal is 50,000 words written.  It all starts with just one.

The

Have you ever participated in a writing challenge? Any advice? Please?

6 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2012

Leave a Reply

